Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks ArticlesMore Great Links
Sources
  • "All About McGruff the Crime Dog." National Crime Prevention Council. http://www.ncpc.org/mcgruff
  • American Humane Association. http://www.americanhumane.org/
  • American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. http://www.aspca.org/
  • "Animal Cruelty." Pet-Abuse.com. http://www.pet-abuse.com/pages/animal_cruelty.php
  • "Animal Welfare Act as Amended (7 USC, 2131-2156)." The Animal Welfare Information Center. U.S. Department of Agriculture. http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic/legislat/awa.htm
  • "Crime Prevention -- McGruff the Crime Dog (1979 - Present)." Ad Council. http://www.adcouncil.org/default.aspx?id=136
  • "First Strike: The Connection Between Animal Cruelty and Human Violence." The Humane Society of the United States. http://www.hsus.org/hsus_field/first_strike_the_connection_ between_animal_cruelty_and_human_violence/
  • "How can I become an animal cruelty investigator?" Oregon Humane Society. http://www.oregonhumane.org/Investigator.htm
  • "How was the ASPCA started?" Animal Precinct. Animal Planet. http://animal.discovery.com/fansites/animalprecinct/history.html
  • "Humane Officer Training Course Information." Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. http://datcp.state.wi.us/ah/agriculture/animals/welfare/humane-officer/index.jsp
  • "Humane Officers." State Humane Association of California. http://www.californiastatehumane.org/humaneofficers.htm
  • Humane Society of the United States. http://www.hsus.org/
  • "Investigations and Rescue." San Diego Humane Society and SPCA. http://www.sdhumane.org/site/PageServer?pagename=don_InvestigationsRescue
  • National Animal Control Association. June 30, 2008. http://www.nacanet.org/
  • Pahl, Michelle. "U.S. 'Animal Detectives' Fight Crime in Forensics Lab." National Geographic. April 2, 2003. http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/pf/91582696.html
  • Peters, Sharon. "Crime scene team exposes animal cruelty." USA Today. Updated Oct. 9, 2007. http://www.usatoday.com/tech/science/2007-10-09-veterinary-forensics_N.htm
  • Robins, Sandy. "When your pet goes missing, call a detective." MSNBC. Aug. 30, 2006. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/12136519/
  • "State Animal Anti-Cruelty Law Provisions." The Humane Society of the United States. 2007. http://www.hsus.org/web-files/PDF/state_cruelty_chart.pdf
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Forensics Lab. U.S. Department of the Interior. http://www.lab.fws.gov/index.php
  • Watts, Robyn. "The Best Job (Humane Law Enforcement)." Petfinder.com. ASPCA. 2001. http://www.petfinder.com/journal/index.cgi?article=839
  • "Ways to Help Animals As a Career." Just For Kids. American Humane Association. http://www.americanhumane.org/kids/career.htm
  • "What is CITES?" Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). http://www.cites.org/
  • Wisch, Rebecca F. "Overview of State Cruelty Laws." Animal Legal & Historical Center. Michigan State University College of Law. 2005. http://www.animallaw.info/articles/ovusstatecrueltylaws.htm