Prev Next  

Advertisement

10 Wildly Wrong Animal Stereotypes

Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Move Over Groundhog, Woolly Caterpillars Forecast Winter Too!

Move Over Groundhog, Woolly Caterpillars Forecast Winter Too!

We look at how people use the bands of color on a woolly bear caterpillar to determine how harsh a winter will be – and whether it has any merit.


Author's Note: 10 Wildly Wrong Animal Stereotypes

I've always been a huge fan of bats and spiders, so I loved finding information that might help others come to appreciate them, too. (Anything that will eat a mosquito is a friend of mine.) And while I wasn't too surprised to learn that these animal stereotypes were false, it was interesting to think about how some of the myths came about in the first place and to see the differences and similarities in the way different cultures perceive the same animal.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Australian Koala Foundation. "Living With Koalas: How Can You Help to Protect Them?" (Nov. 6, 2014) https://www.savethekoala.com/about-koalas/living-koalas-how-can-you-help-protect-them
  • Australian Koala Foundation. "Physical Characteristics of the Koala." (Nov. 6, 2014) https://www.savethekoala.com/about-koalas/physical-characteristics-koala
  • Balcombe, Jonathan. "It's Time (magazine) to Respect Cows." Psychology Today. Aug. 18, 2010. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-inner-lives-animals/201008/it-s-time-magazine-respect-cows
  • Bat World Sanctuary. "Myths and Facts." (Nov. 6, 2014) http://batworld.org/myths_facts_page/
  • Breyer, Melissa. "10 Things You Didn't Know About Koalas." Mother Nature Network. Sept. 12, 2013. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/stories/10-things-you-didnt-know-about-koalas
  • Briggs, Helen. "Sloth's lazy image a myth." BBC News. May 13, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/7396356.stm
  • Budiansky, Stephen. "Excerpt from 'The Truth about Dogs.'" The New York Times. Oct. 29, 2000. (Nov. 10, 2014) https://www.nytimes.com/books/first/b/budiansky-truth.html
  • Cornell Lab of Ornithology. "Owls." (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.birds.cornell.edu/AllAboutBirds/owlp/olws2
  • Crawford, Rod. "Myths, Misconceptions, and Superstitions about Spiders." The Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.burkemuseum.org/spidermyth/
  • Fears, Darryl. "Ten reasons why bats are a lot cooler than you think." The Washington Post. Oct. 28, 2014. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2014/10/28/ten-reasons-why-bats-are-a-lot-cooler-than-you-think/
  • Foster, Peter. "A wise owl or a foolish oolu?" The Telegraph. Aug. 9, 2007. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/peterfoster/3628081/A_wise_owl_or_a_foolish_oolu/
  • Hagen, Kristen and Donald M. Broom. "Emotional Reactions to Learning in Cattle." Applied Animal Behaviour Science. Volume 85, Issues 3-4, Pages 203–213. March 25, 2004. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.appliedanimalbehaviour.com/article/S0168-1591(03)00294-6/fulltext
  • The Humane Society. "Kind News Feature: The Real Deal About Pigs." Dec. 19, 2012. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.humanesociety.org/news/magazines/kind_news/2012/12-01/real-deal-about-pigs.html
  • Johnson-Bennett, Pam. "Myth: Cats Are Aloof and Independent." (Nov. 10, 2014) http://www.catbehaviorassociates.com/cat-myth-cats-are-aloof-and-independent/
  • Lakatos, Gabriella, Mariusz Janiak, Lukasz Malek, Robert Muszynski, Veronika Konok, Krzysztof Tchon, Á. Miklósi. "Sensing sociality in dogs: what may make an interactive robot social?" Animal Cognition. March 2014. (Nov. 10, 2014) http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10071-013-0670-7
  • Lewis, Deane. "Owls in Mythology and Culture." The Owl Pages. May 13, 2005. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.owlpages.com/articles.php?section=owl+mythology&title=myth+and+culture
  • Main, Douglas. "The Surprising Cause of Most 'Spider Bites.'" LiveScience. July 5, 2013. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.livescience.com/37974-he-surprising-cause-of-most-spider-bites.html
  • Marino, Lori. "Dolphins are not healers." Aeon. June 18, 2013. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://aeon.co/magazine/science/lori-marino-dolphins-are-not-healers/
  • Mascoli, Gene. "Wise As An Owl." Science IQ. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.scienceiq.com/facts/wiseasanowl.cfm
  • Miller, Elizabeth. "Bats, Vampires, and Dracula." Newsletter of the Florida Bat Conservation Centre. Fall 1998. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~emiller/bats_vamp_drac.html
  • Mulvaney, Kieran. "Of Vampires and Bats. And Vampire Bats." Discovery News. Oct. 29, 2009. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://news.discovery.com/earth/of-vampires-and-bats-and-vampire-bats.htm
  • National Geographic. "Bottlenose Dolphin." (Nov. 6, 2014) http://animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/mammals/bottlenose-dolphin/
  • Nicholls, Henry. "The Truth about Sloths." BBC.com. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20140916-the-truth-about-sloths
  • Orkin. "Hobo Spiders." (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.orkin.com/other/spiders/hobo-spiders/
  • Palermo, Elizabeth. "5 Spooky Spider Myths Busted." LiveScience. Oct. 28, 2014. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.livescience.com/48479-spider-myths-busted.html
  • Palmer, Mark. "Interview with Ric O'Barry on CBC." The Dolphin Project. June 10, 2012. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://dolphinproject.org/blog/post/interview-with-ric-obarry-on-cbc
  • PBS Nature. "The Joy of Pigs." (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/episodes/the-joy-of-pigs/smart-clean-and-lean/2126/
  • PETA. "The Hidden Lives of Cows." (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.peta.org/issues/animals-used-for-food/factory-farming/cows/hidden-lives-cows/
  • PETA. "Top 10 Reasons Not to Eat Pigs." (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.peta.org/living/food/top-10-reasons-eat-pigs/
  • Saito, Atzuko and Kazutaka Shinozuka. "Vocal recognition of owners by domestic cats (Felis catus)." Animal Cognition. July 2013. (Nov. 10, 2014) http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs10071-013-0620-4
  • Santillano, Vicki. "Is an owl really wise? Four Animal Myths Debunked." Divine Caroline. Jan. 25, 2011. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.divinecaroline.com/life-etc/culture-causes/owl-really-wise-four-animal-myths-debunked
  • Sophasarun, Nida. "Experts Debunk Bats' Bad Rap." National Geographic Magazine. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0204/feature7/online_extra.html
  • Suprenant, Leon J. "The Sin of Sloth." Catholic Answers Magazine. January 2008. (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.catholic.com/magazine/articles/the-sin-of-sloth
  • Szokan, Nancy. "The truth behind the dolphin's smile." The Washington Post. March 24, 2014. (Nov. 6, 2014) http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/health-science/the-truth-behind-the-dolphins-smile/2014/03/24/f2ced3d4-af79-11e3-9627-c65021d6d572_story.html
  • World Animal Foundation. "Sloth Fact Sheet." (Nov. 7, 2014) http://www.worldanimalfoundation.net/f/Sloth.pdf

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement