Rattlesnake, a venomous snake having a rattle at the end of its tail. There are 42 species and subspecies of rattlesnakes. All are native to the Americas, where they range from southern Canada to Argentina. In the United States, which is the home of 13 species, rattlesnakes are found in nearly every state. They are most numerous and varied in the Southwest and in northern Mexico.

Rattlesnakes:Rattlesnakes: Ridge-nosed, Sidewinder, Northern Pacific, and Timber
Where Do Rattlesnakes Live?

Rattlesnakes inhabit the prairies, grasslands, pine woods, swamps, and forests of both North and South America. Their range reaches from southern Canada to Argentina. A few live east of the Mississippi River, but most live in southwestern United States and northern Mexico.

There are about 30 species of rattlesnakes. Some, like the ridge-nosed rattlesnake, usually grow between 15 and 24 inches (38 and 61 centimeters). Others, like the eastern diamondback rattlesnake, are long, thick, and heavy. Eastern diamondbacks are the longest rattlers. They grow to more than 7 feet (2.2 meters) in length!