10 Weird Creatures From the Mariana Trench


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Vampire Squid Don't Actually Suck Blood

Vampire Squid Don't Actually Suck Blood

The vampire squid isn't actually a squid. HowStuffWorks checks out these denizens of the deep.


Author's Note: 10 Weird Creatures From the Mariana Trench

More than two decades ago, I was fascinated by "The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau," a documentary-style TV show that explored the world's oceans. The crew poked their cameras into every underwater nook and cranny they could find, showing millions of viewers a new perspective on life beneath the waves. Although these days our cameras and scientific technology have improved immensely, we still have more questions than answers about life in the deepest parts of our seas — a testament to just how difficult it is for us to go adventuring in some parts of our own planet.

Related Stories

More Great Links

Sources

  • Aguilera, Mario C. "The Deep Comes Alive." Triton. (June 26, 2015) http://www.alumni.ucsd.edu/s/1170/emag/emag-interior-2-col.aspx?sid=1170&gid=1&pgid=6301
  • Bowerman, Mary. "Frilled Shark Caught off Australian Coast." USA Today. Jan. 22, 2015. (June 26, 2015) http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2015/01/21/frilled-shark-sea-monster-caught-australia-coast/22099613/
  • Chappell, Bill. "Rare and 'Horrific': Frilled Shark Startles Fishermen in Australia." NPR. Jan. 21, 2015. (June 26, 2015) http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2015/01/21/378944897/rare-and-horrific-frilled-shark-startles-fishermen-in-australia
  • Crew, Becky. "Deep-Sea Hatchetfish." Australian Geographic. May 1, 2014. (June 26, 2015) http://www.australiangeographic.com.au/blogs/creatura-blog/2014/05/deep-sea-hatchetfish
  • Florida Museum of Natural History. "Goblin Shark." (June 26, 2015) http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/gallery/descript/goblinshark/goblinshark.html
  • Frazer, Jennifer. "What Lives at the Bottom of the Mariana Trench? More Than You Might Think." Scientific American. April 14, 2013. (June 26, 2015) http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/artful-amoeba/what-lives-at-the-bottom-of-the-mariana-trench-more-than-you-might-think/
  • Harmon, Katherine. "The Clear-headed Fish." Scientific American. (June 26, 2015) http://www.scientificamerican.com/gallery/the-clear-headed-fish/
  • Harmon, Katherine. "Unusual Offshore Octopods: Telescope Octopus Has Totally Tubular Eyes." Scientific American. May 31, 2013. (June 26, 2015) http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/octopus-chronicles/unusual-offshore-octopods-telescope-octopus-has-totally-tubular-eyes/
  • Kids Discover. "Pacific Barreleye: Fish with a See-through Head." Aug. 19, 2013. (June 26, 2015) http://www.kidsdiscover.com/quick-reads/pacific-barreleye-fish-with-a-see-through-head/
  • Knight, J.D. "Deep Sea Dragonfish." Sea and Sky. (June 26, 2015) http://www.seasky.org/deep-sea/dragonfish.html
  • Knight, J.D. "Hatchetfish." Sea and Sky. (June 26, 2015) http://www.seasky.org/deep-sea/hatchetfish.html
  • Lee, Jane J. "Watch: World's Deepest Fish Lurks 5 Miles Down in Mariana Trench." National Geographic. Dec. 21, 2014. (June 26, 2015) http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2014/12/141219-deepest-fish-mariana-trench-animal-ocean-science/
  • Martin, R. Aidan. "Frilled Shark." ReefQuest Centre for Shark Research. (June 26, 2015) http://www.elasmo-research.org/education/ecology/deepsea-frilled_shark.htm
  • McCarthy, Erin. "8 Things You Probably Didn't Know About the Seadevil Anglerfish." Mental Floss. Nov. 25, 2014. (June 26, 2015) http://mentalfloss.com/article/60250/8-things-you-probably-didnt-know-about-seadevil-anglerfish
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium. "Fanfin Anglerfish." (June 26, 2015) http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animal-guide/fishes/fanfin-anglerfish
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium. "Hatchetfish." (June 26, 2015) http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animal-guide/fishes/hatchetfish
  • Morgenstein, Mark. "Shrimper Who Caught Rare Goblin Shark: 'Man, He's Ugly!'" CNN. May 5, 2014. (June 26, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2014/05/04/us/florida-goblin-shark/
  • National Geographic. "The Mariana Trench." (June 26, 2015) http://www.deepseachallenge.com/the-expedition/mariana-trench/
  • Oskin, Becky. "Mariana Trench: The Deepest Depths." Live Science. Oct. 8, 2014. (June 26, 2015) http://www.livescience.com/23387-mariana-trench.html
  • Shapiro, Leo. "Osedax." Encyclopedia of Life. (June 26, 2015) http://eol.org/pages/49241/overview
  • Tangley, Laura. "Mysteries of the Twilight Zone." National Wildlife Federation. Oct. 1, 2001. (June 26, 2015) http://www.nwf.org/news-and-magazines/national-wildlife/animals/archives/2001/mysteries-of-the-twilight-zone.aspx
  • University of California at Berkeley Museum of Palentology. "Googly-eyed Fishes." Understanding Evolution. (June 26, 2015) http://evolution.berkeley.edu/evolibrary/article/fishtree_03
  • Walker, Brian. "Something Out of 'Alien': Rare Frilled Shark Caught Off Australian Coast." CNN. Jan. 22, 2015. (June 26, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2015/01/22/world/australia-frilled-shark/
  • Wrobel, Dave. "Benthocodon pedunculata." Jellies Zone. (June 26, 2015) http://jellieszone.com/benthocodon.htm

More to Explore