How do animals communicate?

  Prev Next  

UP NEXT

10 Weird Ways Organisms Reproduce

10 Weird Ways Organisms Reproduce

Nature has come up with many ways to increase populations. Learn more about the weird ways organisms reproduce at HowStuffWorks.


Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • "Animal Communication Research." Bioacoustics Research Program Cornell Lab of Ornithology. (3/10/2010) http://www.birds.cornell.edu/brp/research/animal-communication-research
  • "Ants - Communication." (3/10/2010) http://science.jrank.org/pages/450/Ants-Communication.html
  • "Bottlenose dolphins." Sea World. (3/10/2010) http://www.seaworld.org/animal-info/info-books/bottlenose/index.htm
  • Carey, Bjorn. "Ship Noise Drowns Out Whale Talk, a Threat to Mating." Live Science. Feb. 20, 2005. (3/10/2010) http://www.livescience.com/animals/050220_whale_chatter.html
  • Carey, Bjorn. "Whales Found to Speak in Dialects." Live Science. Jan. 3, 2006. (3/10/2010) http://www.livescience.com/animals/060103_whale_noises.html
  • Foer, Joshua. "Congo Chimps." National Geographic. February 2010. (3/10/2010) http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2010/02/congo-chimps/foer-text/1
  • Fountain, Henry. "One Reason Lizards Have Ears? To Eavesdrop Perhaps." New York Times. March 4, 2010. (3/10/2010) http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/science/09oblizard.html?ref=science
  • Hill, Amelia, ""Urban life is stressing out our songbirds." The Observer. June 29, 2008. (3/10/2010) http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2008/jun/29/wildlife.animalbehaviour
  • "How do dolphins communicate?" The Dolphin Communication Project. April 26, 2008. (3/10/2010) http://www.dolphincommunicationproject.org/main/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1240&Itemid=307
  • Keim, Brandon. "Rudiments of Language Discovered in Monkeys." Wired. Dec. 7, 2009. (3/10/2010) http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/12/monkey-talk/
  • Lee, John. "Basic Bioluminescence." Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology University of Georgia. Nov. 10, 2008. http://www.photobiology.info/LeeBasicBiolum.html
  • Linden, Eugene. "Can Animals Think?" Time Magazine. March 22, 1993. (3/10/2010) http://www.des.emory.edu/mfp/303/CanAnimalsThink.pdf
  • "Our Research: Past and Present." The Dolphin Institute. (3/10/2010) http://www.dolphin-institute.org/our_research/
  • "Trunk call: How elephants communicate using a 'secret language'" Daily Mail. Feb. 23, 2010. (3/10/2010) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1252912/Elephants-communicate-using-secret-language.html#
  • Wade, Nicholas. "In Monkey Babble, Seeking Key to Human Language Development. Jan. 11, 2010. (3/10/2010) http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/12/science/12monkey.html?pagewanted=1&ref=science
  • Uscher, Jennifer. "The Language of Song: An Interview with Donald Kroodsma." Scientific American. July 1, 2002. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=the-language-of-song-an-i
  • White, Thomas. "Between The Species."Loyola Marymount University. August 2009. (3/10/2010) http://www.cla.calpoly.edu/bts/issue_09/09white.pdf
  • 1
  • 2